Fayette County Treasurer
Property Taxes
Fayette County Treasurer
Kyle Jacobsen
114 North Vine Street
P.O. Box 273
West Union, IA  52175

Telephone: (563) 422-3787
Fax: (563) 422-3855

Property Tax Hours
Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Holiday Closings

The Treasurer's Office is located on the second
floor of the Courthouse.  To the left from the stairs
or to the right from the elevator.

A Payment Drop box is located near the East door
of the Courthouse and available 24 hours a day
Fayette County Home Page                                                                            Treasurer's Home Page
Property Taxes are paid to and collected by the County Treasurer.
Fayette County property tax statements are mailed once a year,
usually during the first week of August.

The taxes are split into two equal payments payable
on or before September 30 and March 31.
Property taxes are based on several factors including the assessed value of the property as
determined by the Assessor and the operating budgets of the various taxing bodies.  Taxing
bodies include school districts, cities, county, townships, assessor, area community colleges,
and the county extension service.  The Iowa Department of Agriculture also receives property
taxes to help fund the Brucellosis & Tuberculosis Eradication Program.  Each property tax
statement lists the separate taxing bodies and shows
how much of your tax each body receives.

Click here for an overview of the property tax process.
Assessed values, tax amounts,
along with other information
on any piece of real estate
property in Fayette County
can be found on the county's
GIS website.
There are various programs available that may reduce your property taxes.  Some
of the programs are implemented through the
Assessor's Office.

Click here for a listing of these programs.