Official Website for Fayette County, Iowa


Contact Information


Vicky Halstead

Fayette County Assessor



Fayette County Assessor

PO Box 167

West Union, Iowa 52175





Monday - Friday

8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Closed



Chad Osterbuhr

Chief Deputy Assessor


Jill Hubbell

Office Manager/GIS Clerk


Nancy Hanson

Administrative Assistant

About the Assessor

The assessor in Iowa is charged with several administrative and statutory duties; the primary duty and responsibility is to cause to be assessed all real property within her/his jurisdiction except that which is otherwise provided by law. This would include residential, commercial, industrial, and agricultural classes of property.


Real property is revalued every two years.

The effective date of the assessment is January 1st of each year.

The assessor determines a full or partial value of new construction,

or improvements depending upon the amount of the new construction,

or improvements completed as of January 1st. 

Board of Review

The Board of Review is appointed by the Conference Board and must consist of either three or five members. The length of term is six years and they are served in staggered terms. The occupations of the members must be considered before appointment. In the case of a county board, one member must be a farmer.


Also, the membership should include someone involved in the sale of real estate and someone who is connected with either architecture or construction. However, no more than two persons involved in the same occupation can be appointed to the board.

Conference Board
Iowa Property Tax Cycle
Property Owner's Legal Responsibility
Upcoming Important Dates