Official Website for Fayette County, Iowa

Planning & Zoning

Contact Information


Catherine Miller

Planning & Zoning




Planning & Zoning

PO Box 269

West Union, Iowa 52175









Monday - Friday

8:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday


Due to on site inspections and
evaluations, the office may not always be staffed during these hours. You may want to call ahead of your visit.    



Debbie Dietzenbach

Administrative Assistant

Duties of the County Planning & Zoning

The County, through the adoption of a comprehensive development plan and enforcement of the county’s zoning, building code, subdivision and floodplain development ordinances, is able to regulate land uses in the unincorporated areas of the county.

Planning and Development is responsible for the current and future land uses in all unincorporated areas of Fayette County.

Planning & Zoning Commission

The Fayette County Planning and Zoning Commission is made up of nine
county residents appointed by the Board of Supervisors to serve five year
terms, with the majority residing in the unincorporated areas of the county.  
Also known as the Zoning Commission, the Planning and Zoning Commission
was created in 1972 by the Board of Supervisors to act as their advisory group
on all planning and zoning matters including the adoption, implementation and
update of the development plan, zoning ordinance, and subdivision
ordinance.  This includes zoning and re-zoning land, subdivision planning and
site plan reviews in unincorporated Fayette County.

Board of Adjustment
Farm/Ag Exemption

Career Information